The Power of Organics

You may remember way back when I was just starting out in the world of skin care and makeup artistry, that I did a bunch of beauty experiments to see if anything would actually achieve a clear complexion.  Well, I have found it once and for all:  Organic, cruelty-free beauty products.  I know, I know, some of you are groaning right now, “Not another one biting the organic bit”, but give me a chance to tell you about some products, just to plant the seed in your head, and you see where it goes.

Okay, I have always been attracted to cruelty free products – products that don’t test on animals – but before moving to organic beauty products, I didn’t really adhere to the idea that I should support only cruelty free companies. Then last year, my uncle passed away from brain cancer, and my whole family made the decision that in his honor, we would all reduce or eliminate the use of parabens, polyethylenes, and all manner of toxic ingredients in things that we use on our bodies.

SO, LET ME JUST SAY – I am now a skin care enthusiest more than I am a makeup enthusiest. And if you know how much I love makeup, that is saying something.  And this is why:

  • I struggled all my life with problem, oily, acne prone skin.
  • I used everything from Proactiv to Accutane, and even when using those products, I wasn’t getting good results.
  • I switched to organic products, and BOOM, my skin is beautiful
  • I now have clear skin
  • I now have “normal” skin, rather than “oily”.
  • I no longer have any excess oil on my skin.
  • I do not wear foundation in my daily makeup routine because I have no need for it.

I am a skin care enthusiest now because I love my skin, and I enjoy taking care of it.

So, do you want to know what kinds of products I use?  I get everything from Walmart – surprisingly enough – and never spend over $5 on a product. Everything I buy is organic, cruelty free, and WORKS!  What more could you want?

  • St Ives – I’m having a love affair with them, and my husband doesn’t mind.  This is my all time favourite brand, let me tell you.  I love their products, they are cheap, they are effective, and they are quality.
  • Tea tree oil face cleanser – I have used the green tea face cleanser as well, but I always come back to this one. The formula is lighter, less gel-like, and the scent (though still, I hate the scent) is more tolerable than the green tea. It keeps my skin clear,  and makes my skin feel clean, and the fresh feeling actually lasts.
  • Green Tea Scrub – Unlike the Apricot scrub, which is too harsh to use on your face, this one is wonderful. I was very skeptical about trying it out on my face, fearing that it would be a repeat of the horrible breakouts that the Apricot scrub caused, but no. No, the green tea scrub is very fine, very sandy in texture, and does not irritate the skin at all. While being as gentle as it is, it still does a great job at exfoliating, and leaves a noticeably smoother texture to the skin. The Apricot scrub, I use on the rest of my body.
  • Body Washes – A little goes a looooong way!! Leaves skin actually feeling clean with no soapy scummy residue.
  • Body Lotion – my favourite is Intensive Relief. It smells amazing, has a thin consistency which soaks into the skin, moisturizing immediately.
  • Live Clean – When I first started using Live Clean’s shampoos and conditioners, I wasn’t totally impressed. I found that they weighed down my hair, made my roots look oily, and the clean didn’t last very long. Then I found out I was using it wrong haha!
  • You really only need to do a really quick scrub on the scalp – I’m talking a 10 second scrub – to benefit from the shampoo. And just that 10 second scrub really cleans the hair, and it lasts!  Even for me – an exercise freak who sweats consistently throughout the day.
  • Only put the conditioner on the ends of your hair.
  • Might I draw your attention to the Argan Oil Smooth and Shine Creme, which is a leave-in conditioner.  And also, the Agran Oil Treatment, which is – okay – $5?  Maybe?  And does the SAME THING is MoraccanOil, which sells for $40.

I have also tried the new Neolia body wash, and I like it.  The only beef I have with it is that you have to use a lot, otherwise you run out of lather. But I do like how it makes my skin feel.  I haven’t noticed if it’s doing anything that St Ives wouldn’t do to my skin, so I probably will not repurchase, just because it’s more expensive than St Ives, and I have to use more.  But it is not a bad product.

 

Okay, are you sold on the power of the organics?  Please do contact me if you have questions or want more in depth product reviews – I can also review in video form on Youtube.

2 thoughts on “The Power of Organics

  1. Interesting article. I have been looking at the St. Ives & Live Clean brands. The one thing that I have noticed is St. Ives tends to use alcohol in a lot of their products (some alcohols are good & others are bad). So, either way, I’m trying to steer clear of alcohol. Also, St. Ives uses sodium laureth sulfate vs sodium lauryl sulfoacetate. The verdict isn’t really out on how great the sulfoacetate is for you, but it is plant-based, so I’m hoping it’s at least a bit better than the sulfur based.

    • Hi! Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂

      I just wanted to say that these things about St Ives don’t bother me, because me personally, I suffer with acne prone skin. So things like alcohol and sulphur based ingredients are things that I like to see in products. But I like to see that you are very wise about what ingredients you’re putting on your face and in your body, and it’s a good thing that you’ve told me about your concerns, because now I can also become more cautious when recommending my clients with different skin types to use these products.

Leave a comment