B.B. Cream and all the Glory

Image

 

This, is Revoln’s PhotoReady BB cream.  I’ve been using it every day for 26 days as of today, and I have to say, I am in love.  Revlon is one of the very few drugstore brands of beauty products that is cruelty free, and so I am of course an advocate to begin with.  But now I am fully confident.

Let me start by addressing a question – What is BB Cream?  It’s all the rage in North America right now, but it started out AGES ago in east and southeast Asia and the Orient.  Essentially, it is an al-in-one product providing moisturizer, sunblock, primer, and is even tinted to give a light coverage foundation finish.  It is so versatile that it can be worn alone, with powder, under foundation, and over other moisturizers.  Some brands now are also including ingredients to give their BBs an extra boost, such as skin clearing properties.  As I spend a lot of time in Japan, I was aware of the BB craze a long time before it hit North America, but in the Orient the bad thing is, their BBs are loaded with skin whitening products, which is rather counter productive of the entire BB concept.  So I never tried them.  

Revlon is the first brand that I have come across to have a cream with a shade light enough for my skin, and I was very excited.  They are calling it a Skin Perfector – “A lightweight, multi-benefit Beauty Balm that combines skincare, makeup, and sunscreen into one step.” (says the Revlon website) It does it’s job.  I was suffering a moderate breakout when I first started using the product, and didn’t want to be putting heavy foundations on my face that were just going to further add to the problem.  The BB stayed on my face all day, and at the end of the day, was easy to completely wash off.  There was nothing sinking into my skin, there was no melting, no moving.  Despite the fact that it was acting just like a foundation would, my breakout cleared up perfectly well. The BB also did a good job covering my redness and the colouration of some of the activity that was going on with my face, just like a light foundation.  

I’ve been using the BB over a moisturizer with spf 15 in it, so combined with the BB’s spf 30, that’s equaling a wonderfully no-pore-clogging spf 45 that I’m putting on my face. 

So I’m a believer.  At least in Revlon.

2 thoughts on “B.B. Cream and all the Glory

  1. Not all BB creams contain a moisturizer. Gen & I independently got BB cream samples from Asia (both from Korea, I believe) and none of the samples we were both sent had any moisturizer in them.

    They were meant to be used after applying moisturizer. Basically it was just a primer/foundation mix. Some had high SPF.

Leave a comment